Writing Roundup: March 2011

It’s been a somewhat productive month, dominated (not surprisingly) by Dragon Age 2. As I am headed to Berlin for an indeterminate time that may end up permanent on Wednesday, I am not entirely sure how productive this month will continue to be. I certainly have enough to write about DA2 still, but actually playing games? Outside of my PSP and browser-based games, that will not likely be happening until I get settled in some way.

Without further ado, this month brought you:

  • This interview was conducted a while ago, but then publishing was delayed for various reasons. Regardless, my interview with Tale of Tales is finally up (P.S. I love talking to devs and creative types in the industry)!
  • I reviewed the Facebook game Dragon Age: Legends, which claims to be the first ‘real’ Facebook game. Not entirely sure of the validity of that claim, and I do wonder at introducing such high levels of difficulty into a more casual-oriented space. The mixture is jarring.
  • Wrote a spoiler-ridden inclusivity review of Dragon Age 2, not really touching on anything in depth. Have seen it passed about here and there, so was glad to see that.
  • There was a brief break to put up this piece on Sander Cohen, for which I had the wonderful opportunity of talking with Ken Levine (it was rather surreal to be discussing it with him over a phone when it was 21.00 here, but during business hours in the U.S.).
  • Originally, I didn’t want to post about this, but saw a few sites reporting it as gay gamers wanting Gaider’s dismissal from BioWare, rather than A gay gamer (allegedly), so wrote that GayGamer did not share those views.
  • It delights me when a company will direct us to their games that are providing avenues of inclusiveness, which is what Lucent Heart did concerning their poll to include same-sex relationships (relationships have an in-game bonus).
  • Wrote this review of Mass Effect 2’s latest piece of DLC. Have a post brewing in my head comparing its decision-making process to Dragon Age 2, and why I didn’t like the railroading as much in the DLC.

So, hopefully I’ll have some posts up during the course of the next few weeks both here and other places. Really, need to push myself to write more for The Border House.

About Denis Farr

Writer interested in intersectionality, games, comics, nerdy stuff in general, theater, and how it all mixes. Graduate of Wabash College, with studies in Theater, English, German, and Gender Studies.
This entry was posted in Monthly Roundup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

