Writing Roundup: January 2011

I asked on Twitter if anyone would find useful my linking up pieces I’d written elsewhere. The idea came to me when I realized I wanted to put together a portfolio, but that I’ve written a shitton (actual measurement) of articles for GayGamer, and while I wouldn’t want to link most, sifting back through them would require an inordinate amount of effort.

Therefore, this is as much for me as for any readers who might be interested in such.

  • Technically this came at the end of December, but I felt like including it here. I finally tackled the Cloud in drag post I’ve had in my head for two years (true facts). What I found was that it wasn’t as offensive as I may have feared and approached gender in a very playful way.
  • I’ve been slowly building myself up to continue writing about LGBT characters in games. This led to a write-up of Fiona and Mickey from The Longest Journey. Perhaps the observation that struck me most while writing it? “In fact, in thinking back on it, what becomes apparent is that this is one of the only actual couples in the game.” It floored me, to be honest.
  • Continuing on with The Longest Journey, I wrote about the moment in game that struck me the most, which happened to be the Tale of Homecoming, particularly because of this bit: “Words themselves are not as important to the Alatien as the meaning the words convey, and how they reflect the current teller.”
  • One of our new writers at GayGamer wrote about how he wouldn’t trade in The Darkness. In turn, I wrote a bit more about the most poignant moment I found in the game–which led me to realize that it was a classic woman in the refrigerator moment. It really made me cringe as this is a game based on a comic. Oi.
  • In my head are all these ideas of what elements make up a horror game that actually affects me in the manner they seek, and it’s an idea I need to test against a few more games (Hi, there, Amnesia!). Therefore, this was prep-work for my getting back into Half-Life 2 and recalling why Ravenholm affected me.
  • I wrote about Abu’l Nuqoud quite a while ago. In an effort to provide more serious content to juxtapose the Top 20 Gayest Characters at GayGamer, however, I rewrote the piece, and finally reworked that last paragraph with how his initial non-violent ways seemed to me. As a character, he still fascinates me.
  • Krystian linked to this game from the Global Game Jam on his Facebook account: H.I.V. Extinction 1981. It is set in a disco club in 1981 and has to do with HIV/AIDS. There was no way I could ignore it. When I started thinking about the game and its meaning, what I found was one of those puzzle boxes where you keep solving one layer to be confronted with another. Considering how often games have even mentioned HIV/AIDS, it was a very evocative piece for me (most of my mothers’ gay male friends from an earlier time are now gone, and you can guess why).

That’s all for this month. While I haven’t fully met my goal that I set at the year (one post a week both here and at The Border House on top of my five-day-a-week posting at GayGamer), I can say I’ve been pretty pleased with the results pushing myself has achieved.

About Denis Farr

Writer interested in intersectionality, games, comics, nerdy stuff in general, theater, and how it all mixes. Graduate of Wabash College, with studies in Theater, English, German, and Gender Studies.
This entry was posted in Monthly Roundup and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Roundup: January 2011

  1. marcus says:

    hi dennis, i am the guy who did h.i.v extinction ’81 together with a designer and a programmer. thanks a lot for your very good words on that game. Krystian just pointed me to the gay gamer post. i did not even know about that site.

    thx again and cheers, marcus

Leave a Reply

