Exit 2010, Writing For 2011

Among the reasons I’m never positive on how to elect a GAME OF THE YEAR is the fact that it depends on when you ask me. I play a variety of genres, and depending on my mood, I might have a more kind eye toward a particular title. Instead, what I want to do is merely publish the list of higher profile games I played and finished this year. Among these titles are a number that were not released this year, at least three were replays (Mass Effect, Dragon Age, and BioShock).

An * next to a title means there are plans to write more about that game, with the parentheses that follow offering note of what I plan on writing. Please let me know if you would like me to look more deeply at another in the list (even if I’ve already written about it).

N.B. These are in order of completion.

  1. Mass Effect * (journal of gay male Shepard)
  2. Mass Effect 2 * (Asari, Ardat-Yakshi, same-sex flirtations with femShep)
  3. Bayonetta
  4. flOw
  5. BioShock * (Sander Cohen)
  6. BioShock 2 * (further character analysis)
  7. Heavy Rain
  8. Shadow of the Colossus
  9. Final Fantasy XIII * (character analysis)
  10. Metroid: Zero Mission
  11. Katamari Damacy
  12. Metroid II
  13. Metroid Prime
  14. Metroid Prime 2
  15. Metroid Prime 3 (for all three, possible sense of isolation)
  16. LIMBO
  17. Castlevania: Harmony of Despair
  18. Death Spank
  19. Dead Space
  20. Heavenly Sword * (Kai, Nariko, characters with depth)
  21. Super Metroid
  22. Metroid: Other M
  23. Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
  24. Dissidia: Final Fantasy
  25. Alpha Protocol * (choice in games)
  26. Dragon Age: Origins, Awakening, & DLC * (likely in contrast with DA2)
  27. Sid Meier’s Civilization V
  28. Oddworld: Abe’s Oddysee * (cannot master, can only imitate)
  29. Baldur’s Gate: Dark Alliance

This list serves as both a quick way for me to remember what I played (because while I have a Backloggery profile, it’s ability to navigate the library is lackluster), and a reminder of titles about which I should write.

Also feel free to recommend a title you think I would enjoy that released in the last year. On that note, I already have and plan to finish Fallout: New Vegas, Metro 2033, Amnesia: The Dark Descent, and Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood

About Denis Farr

Writer interested in intersectionality, games, comics, nerdy stuff in general, theater, and how it all mixes. Graduate of Wabash College, with studies in Theater, English, German, and Gender Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Exit 2010, Writing For 2011

  1. Stephen says:

    I’m curious to hear your take on the ending of Shadow of the Colossus, specifically the concept of having the player engage in and complete a task which the character fully understands, but the player does not.

  2. Alex says:

    I want to hear about Katamari and Dissidia! :P

    As for a game released this year… one of my favorites was Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (unless you did play that one? I forget…).

  3. Denis Farr says:

    That scene sticks in my memory particularly because my former roommate, who only occasionally saw me play this game came in for the end and started saying what a shitty ending it was. I was annoyed, largely because he couldn’t understand what all led up to that moment.

    Good fodder for writing. Thank you.

  4. Denis Farr says:

    I need to get a DS again! Fully plan on a 3DS, at which time I’ll pick up that and Apollo Justice.

    Is there something in particular you want to hear about Katamari and Dissidia? In the case of the latter, I have briefly entertained the idea of why while I like playing Terra for her playstyle, the way they depicted her is very jarring with my memory of her presence in FFVI.

  5. Alex says:

    I don’t know, I picked them because I’m not sure what there is to say about them :P #makingyourjobharder But, I would totally love to hear about Terra!

  6. Dilyan says:

    I thought Heavenly Sword’s characters were deeper than the usual videogame bunch. Interesting to know your take.

Leave a Reply

