Quick: Do you have egg on your face?

Due to gracious linking by many sources (among them Maggie Greene and N’Gai Croal), a useful conversation has occurred concerning my post on Gendered Violence. These conversations and blurbs (Nariko and Kate Archer had been brought up by Groping the Elephant and Tyris by Dan Bruno on the same day I posted via Twitter) have provided me with many examples which I will attempt to further study in the weeks/months to come.

While I can not promise a quick look into these games (my free time is becoming exceedingly rare with a very recent change in careers), they are on my queue and have been pushed up in that list.

The females of which I have been made aware (or of which I have been reminded) stand as follows:
Rayne (BloodRayne)
Nariko (Heavenly Sword)
Kuniochi (Nightshade)
Kurenai (Red Ninja)
Tyris (Golden Axe: Beast Rider)
Cate Archer (No One Lives Forever)

There also stands the example of survival horror, which I feel probably has a very intriguing look on the subject matter, but in a vastly different light.

Thank you for the examples and conversation.

If you have your own opinions on these females, please, relate them to me.

About Denis Farr

Writer interested in intersectionality, games, comics, nerdy stuff in general, theater, and how it all mixes. Graduate of Wabash College, with studies in Theater, English, German, and Gender Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

