Disparities in image

Human Rights Campaign news via GamePolitics.com: Game publisher Electronic Arts, Xbox maker Microsoft and leading retailer GameStop are among 259 corporations that have been awarded perfect scores for their treatment of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender employees, consumers and investors.

I have very, very mixed feelings about the HRC concerning its treatment of class, race, and the not-too-distant ENDA spat while using the term human rights. While I understand they are paving the road, I wonder at what cost, and if the ends justify the means. That’s my own personal battle, however. I encourage anyone to do their own research and come to their own conclusions (really, don’t just take my word for it–not everyone will agree with me).


Consumers? Really? I’ve previously discussed the dangers of identifying one’s self as queer in an online space, particularly the gaming community, but Microsoft was given a perfect score with consideration toward its consumers? Are our memories so short?

If a person can be banned or have their name required to be changed due to the sexuality statement, I would like to see more gamer tags cleaned up, because it’s ridiculous out there.

Also, if the LGBT consumers are so well treated, why do I scramble for a representation of a queer character that does not make me uneasy? For that matter, if we’re discussing diverse workplaces, why are sex and race something that I also rarely see very diversified in the games I play?

The consumers bit just rubs me the wrong way, even if I do commend these places for including sexual orientation (now to get gender expression) in the Equal Opportunity statements. I suppose my problem is that I’m constantly looking at the larger goal and expecting more.

So, once again I’m left scratching my head when looking at the HRC. At least they’re getting me to think about what is important to me.

P.S. In less grumpy news, Joey Comeau posted this quick, flash fiction titled Mario of the living dead. For all us grim, dark-themed-loving folk out there, it’s a necessary, fast read.

About Denis Farr

Writer interested in intersectionality, games, comics, nerdy stuff in general, theater, and how it all mixes. Graduate of Wabash College, with studies in Theater, English, German, and Gender Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

