Pop Songs

Warning: Xiu Xiu (pronounced ‘shoo shoo’) is not to everyone’s taste (though this album is perhaps among their more easily accessed), but as they subvert traditional pop songs quite commonly, I feel this video is of interest to those gamers of the video variety:

What amuses me most is that this concept does not seem too horribly out of place. Nor does its difficulty when compared to the old NES cartridges of lore. The song also contains one of my favorite lyrics: When you get to be my age the police don’t assume that you still like to light things on fire, bearing that in mind I wouldn’t trust me either.

Oh Jamie Stewart, you sometimes shrieking weirdo, you. He also wrote a song called Bunny Gamer, about which I will frequently think now that I recall it.

N.B. The plan is to post something of more substance tomorrow.

About Denis Farr

Writer interested in intersectionality, games, comics, nerdy stuff in general, theater, and how it all mixes. Graduate of Wabash College, with studies in Theater, English, German, and Gender Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

